Yes, oats are gluten-free. Researchers have concluded that oats are safe for those with celiac or gluten intolerance and can improve overall nutrition while on a gluten-free diet. So why the concern? Oat crops are often rotated with wheat crops and then processed in the same facilities, resulting in cross-contamination. So look for brands such as Bob’s Red Mill that are certified “gluten-free” by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (gfco.org), which means that the product contains less than 10-ppm gluten. Also beware that the avenin protein in oats can trigger its own reaction, so make note of any symptoms that arise after eating oatmeal.